Skip to content
08/25/2011 / Janette

A New Beginning

Oak Series

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanates from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit” ~Robert Louis Stevenson

Walking out of the doctor’s office last fall, I spotted the most beautiful oak tree.  I was entranced by the gold and red leaves and the many textures of the ground, the leaves,  the tree bark, and the grass.  When I see trees like this I think of country pathways lined with huge oak trees, and kicking through leaves which crunch and give under the soles of my shoes.  I’ve always loved to watch the leaves delicately, like a troupe of ballerinas, twist and swirl gracefully as they float toward the ground.

Have you ever taken an oak leaf, put it under a piece of typing paper, and run a crayon over it?  I love to feel the veins in the leaves, and then to see the crudely copied image on the paper.  Once a week for three weeks I drove by the tree and I watched it become more and more bare and the leaves more brown.  Now it is summer again and the tree is filled with turning leaves.

I grew up in Oregon where trees seem to be everywhere you look.  Now I work in Los Angeles, and although it can be beautiful, I do miss the trees.  Seeing a tree like this one makes me want to sit under it on a blanket and read. It makes me want to gather the leaves and throw them into the air.  Perhaps it is a kind of living celebration of life and the changing of seasons.                ~Janette

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mr WordPress / Aug 25 2011 2:21 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

